Competition

Discovering Talents

Frequently Asked Questions

Entering the competition

Please contact the competition office: 
Tel.: 0049-(0)5241-81-81171, Fax: 0049-(0)5241-81-681171, 
Mail: info(at)neue-stimmen.de

To enter NEUE STIMMEN, all you have to do is complete the online application which includes the up-load of an official proof of your date of birth. Please do not submit tapes or any other material of this sort.

You will receive an e-mail informing you whether or not you have been admitted to the preliminary round auditions before or until April 5, 2019.

Preliminary audition round

No. Applicants with incomplete application forms or incorrect information will not be permitted to auditions.

Yes. Only singers who qualify in a preliminary round audition are allowed to take part in the final round in Gütersloh.

You may change the city of your preliminary round audition yourself in the online application form until 20 days before your audition date. After that, the city selected is binding.

Yes. Ten days prior to your audition, invitations are sent. These invitations include links to confirm or to decline the given date and time. In case, you are not available at the given slot, please click "decline" and ask for another one. It depends on the general schedule for each audition whether we can follow your wishes. We reserve the right to deny your request for changes.

No, you will have to pay for these expenses yourself. But we do refund traveling expenses, board and lodging costs to contestants in the final round up to a preset limit. For more details, go to the section headed "Final Round."

About 3 to 4 days after your audition, enter your online application to check on the jury's evaluation and your qualification status.  In addition, we will notify you by email about qualifying or not qualifying for the final round.

We will arrange and pay for qualified piano accompanists and rooms for rehearsals during auditions as well as during the final round. Contestants may bring their own accompanists to preliminary round auditions. But only at their own cost.

Singers must bring with them well prepared piano scores for the five arias they submitted.

Singers should dress smart. Wear something that makes you look good, and allows you to sing and move well. Please do not come in concert or evening attire.

During preliminary round auditions, each contestant performs 1 or 2 arias from the submitted repertoire. The first aria may be chosen by the singer, the second one (if requested) will be chosen by the jury.

 

 

No. Only the jury, the pianist and the contestant are allowed to be in the room where auditions take place.

Friends and family members are welcome, but will not be allowed to enter the room where auditions take place.

Punctuality is essential. You should arrive to auditions at least one hour before you are due to perform. Only then will you have sufficient time to register and to rehearse.

Repertoire

You can change the repertoire you selected in your online application form until 20 days before your audition date.

Yes. No new repertoire is required for the final round.

During preliminary round auditions, each contestant performs 1 or 2 arias from the submitted repertoire. The first aria may be chosen by the singer, the second one (if requested) will be chosen by the jury. When auditioning during the final round, up to 3 arias from the submitted repertoire may be performed. The first piece will be chosen by the singer, the other arias by the jury. During the semi-final, 1 aria from the submitted repertoire will be performed (chosen by the jury). During the final, 2 arias from the submitted repertoire will be performed (chosen by the jury).

No. All 5 arias must be taken from the NEUE STIMMEN compulary repertoire.

Final round

About 3 to 4 days after auditioning each contestant can check his qualification status in the online application form. In addition, each contestant will be notified by email about qualifying or not qualifying for the final round.

No. The Bertelsmann Stiftung will organize and bear your traveling expenses (only up to a present limit) and board and lodging costs for the final round. The Bertelsmann Stiftung will bear only the costs of the hotel rooms it reserves and will not bear any incidental hotel costs (telephone, fax, laundry service, mini-bar etc.)!

NEUE STIMMEN will refund the traveling expenses after the final round in Gütersloh as follows:

  • up to EUR 1,000 for contestants from Asia, Australia, South Africa, North and South America
  • up to EUR 500 for contestants from Eastern Europe
  • up to EUR 250 for contestants from Western Europe.

NEUE STIMMEN will refund traveling expenses only upon submission of receipts, photocopies via e-mail are preferred. Contestants must always opt for the shortest distance between the competition venue and their place of residence.

The organizers will provide free of charge official accompanists and rooms to rehearse during the final round. Contestants may not bring their own accompanist to Gütersloh!

Singers must bring the piano scores for the repertoire submitted with them to the final round.

Yes. But they must pay their own traveling expenses and board and lodging costs. Please let us know if you intend to bring a friend or family member with you.

No, the final round is not open to the public and only agents, music directors and representatives of the music business are admitted to the room where auditions take place. The semifinals and finals, however, take place in front of a large audience. Please let us know if you intend to bring a friend or family member with you.

Yes, NEUE STIMMEN will bear the costs for board and meals for all final round participants until the competition is over.

Evening wear is recommended for all those competing in the final round, while concert wear is obligatory for both the semifinals and finals.

When auditioning during the final round, up to 3 arias from the submitted repertoire may be performed. The first piece will be chosen by the singer, the other arias by the jury. During the semi-final, 1 aria from the submitted repertoire will be performed (chosen by the jury). During the final, 2 arias from the submitted repertoire will be performed (chosen by the jury).

FAQ

Talente entdecken

Was sich viele Fragen

Online-Bewerbung

Wenden Sie sich bitte an das Wettbewerbsbüro:
Tel. +49(0)5241-81-81171,

Fax: +49(0)5241-81-681171,

E-Mail: info(at)neue-stimmen.de

Die Bewerbung für den Wettbewerb 2019 ist vollständig, wenn Sie den Online Fragebogen ausgefüllt und dort Ihren Geburtsnachweis hochgeladen haben. Das Einreichung von CD, DVD o.Ä. ist nicht erwünscht.

Spätestens bis zum 5. April 2019 erhalten Sie per E-Mail Nachricht, ob Ihre Bewerbung gültig ist und Sie zu einer Vorauswahl zugelassen sind.

Vorauswahlen

Nein. Unvollständige Bewerbungen oder nicht korrekte Angaben können zum Ausschluss vom Wettbewerb führen.

Ja. Die Zulassung zur Endrunde erfolgt auschließlich durch Teilnahme an einer der Vorauswahlen weltweit.

Ja. Sie können selber in Ihrer Online-Bewerbung bis maximal 20 Tage vor Ihrem Vorauswahltermin den Vorauswahlort ändern. Danach ist der gewählte Vorauswahlort verbindlich.

Ja. Etwa zehn Tage vor dem ausgewählten Vorsingen erhalten Sie eine Einladung. Diese Einladung enthält Links zum Bestätigen von Datum und Uhrzeit oder zum Ablehnen. Sollten Sie zur angegebenen Zeit verhindert sein, klicken Sie die Ablehnung und melden sich bei uns wegen eines anderen Termins. Änderungswünsche können nur nach den zeitlichen Bedingungen vor Ort berücksichtig und dementsprechend auch abgelehnt werden.

Nein, bei Vorauswahlen nicht.
Aber für die Teilnahme an der Endrunde werden Reise- und Übernachtungskosten bis zu einem bestimmten Betrag von der Bertelsmann Stiftung erstattet. Näheres hierzu finden Sie unter dem Thema "Endrunde".

Ob Sie sich für die Endrunde qualifiziern konnten, können Sie ca. 3 bis 4 Tage nach Ihrem Vorsingen in Ihrer Online-Bewerbung abrufen. Dort finden Sie auch die Benotung der Jury. Alle Sänger erhalten zusätzlich eine Mitteilung per E-Mail. 

Wir stellen bei allen Vorauswahlen und bei der Endrunde eine offizielle Klavierbegleitung sowie Räumlichkeiten zum Einsingen kostenlos zur Verfügung. Eigene Pianisten sind bei den Vorauswahlen auf eigene Kosten zugelassen - siehe Online Formular.

Bitte bringen Sie professionell erstellte Klavierauszüge für Ihr eingereichtes Repertoire zu den Vorauswahlen wie auch zur Endrunde mit.  

Wir empfehlen, beim Vorauswahlen Kleidung zu tragen, die adrett ist, zu Ihrem Typ passt und in der Sie sich wohl fühlen beim Singen. Bitte KEINE Abendgarderobe.

Bei der Vorauswahl tragen Sie 1 oder 2 Arien aus dem eingereichten Repertoire vor. Die Auswahl der 1. Arie bestimmen Sie selbst, die 2. Arie (falls erwünscht) bestimmt die Jury.

Nein. Im Vorsingraum bei den Vorauswahlen sind nur die Jury, der Pianist und der jeweilige Teilnehmer zugelassen.

Familie und Freunde können mitgebracht werden, sie haben jedoch keinen Zutritt zum Vorsingraum der Vorauswahl.

Pünktliches Erscheinen ist absolut notwendig. Sie müssen sich eine Stunde vor Ihrem Vorsingtermin vor Ort registrieren.

Repertoire

Ja, Sie können bis 20 Tage vor Ihrem Vorauswahltermin Ihr Repertoire in der Online-Bewerbung ändern.

Vorerst ja. Bewerber, die sich zur Endrunde qualifizieren, haben die Möglichkeit im September 2019 ihre Repertoire-Auswahl anzupassen - allerdings immer im Rahmen des Pflichtrepertoirs.

Bei der Vorauswahl trägt jeder Bewerber 1 oder 2 Arien aus dem eingereichten Repertoire vor. Die 1. Arie darf der Sänger auswählen, die 2. Arie (falls erwünscht) bestimmt die Jury. Beim Vorsingen in der Endrunde können maximal 3 Arien aus dem eingereichten Repertoire vorgetragen werden. Das 1. Stück wird vom Sänger selbst bestimmt, die anderen Arien von der Jury. Im Semifinale wird 1 Arie aus dem eingereichten Repertoire nach Wahl der Jury gesungen. Im Finale werden 2 Arien aus dem eingereichten Repertoire nach Wahl der Jury vorgetragen.

Nein. Alle Arien müssen dem Pflicht-Repertoire der NEUEN STIMMEN entnommen werden. 

Endrunde

Die Qualifikation für die Endrunde kann jeder Sänger ca. 3 bis 4 Tage nach seinem Vorsingen mit seinem persönlichen Passwort in der Online-Bewerbung abrufen. Alle Sänger erhalten zusätzlich eine Mitteilung per E-Mail.

Nein. Für die Endrunde übernimmt die Bertelsmann Stiftung die Organisation und Kosten für Ihre Reise (Teil-Kostenerstattung), Übernachtung und Verpflegung. Kosten für die Unterkunft werden nur für die von der Bertelsmann Stiftung angemieteten Hotelzimmer getragen. Die Bertelsmann Stiftung kommt nicht für Nebenkosten im Hotel (Telefon, Fax, Reinigung, Minibar etc.) auf.

Reisekosten anlässlich der Endrunde in Gütersloh erstattet die Bertelsmann Stiftung für Teilnehmer wie folgt:

  • bis 1.000 Euro für Teilnehmer aus Asien, Australien, Nord- und Südamerika und Südafrika
  • bis 500 Euro für Teilnehmer aus Osteuropa
  • bis 250 Euro für Teilnehmer aus Westeuropa

Für die Erstattung der Reisekosten, die nach der Endrunde im Oktober erfolgt, akzeptiert die Bertelsmann Stiftung Fotokopien, die gern per E-Mail gesendet werden dürfen. Die kürzeste Distanz zwischen dem Veranstaltungsort und dem Wohnsitz des Teilnehmers ist einzuhalten.

Eigene Pianisten sind für die Endrunde nicht zugelassen. Der Veranstalter stellt bei der Endrunde eine offizielle Klavierbegleitung sowie Räumlichkeiten zum Einsingen kostenlos zur Verfügung.

Die entsprechenden Klavierauszüge für das eingereichte Repertoire müssen zur Endrunde mitgebracht werden.

Ja. Reise-, Übernachtungs- und Verpflegungskosten von Begleitpersonen werden allerdings nicht von der Bertelsmann Stiftung übernommen. Bitte informieren Sie uns, wenn Sie beabsichtigen, Begleitpersonen mitzubringen.

Das Vorsingen in der Endrunde ist nicht öffentlich. Zugelassen sind nur Agenten, Intendanten und Vertreter der Musikbranche. Semifinale und Finale sind öffentlich und finden vor einem großen Publikum statt. Bitte informieren Sie uns, wenn Sie beabsichtigen, Begleitpersonen mitzubringen.

Ja. Die Bertelsmann Stiftung trägt für alle Teilnehmer der Endrunde die Übernachtungs- und Verpflegungskosten bis der Wettbewerb beendet ist.

Für das Vorsingen bei der Endrunde wird empfohlen, Abendgarderobe zu tragen. Bei den Semifinal- und Finalkonzerten ist Konzertkleidung Pflicht.

Beim Vorsingen in der Endrunde können maximal 3 Arien aus dem eingereichten Repertoire vorgetragen werden. Das 1. Stück wird vom Sänger selbst bestimmt, die anderen Arien von der Jury. Im Semifinale wird 1 Arie aus dem eingereichten Repertoire nach Wahl der Jury gesungen. Im Finale werden 2 Arien aus dem eingereichten Repertoire nach Wahl der Jury vorgetragen.